Interstate Chaos

29 Feb

On the way home from LA last week, I was puttering along at 65 mph along i-55 when a deranged Parisian veered into my lane. What happened next actually looked a lot scenes scene from this music video. Except with a ravine. And unfortunately, I wasn’t sporting M.I.A’s one-piece sequin body suit and gold chains. But I can assure you, our attitudes are one and the same.

The ironic thing is that I avoid driving like the plague. I suffer from irrational anxiety that my car will be hit at any moment.  Poor driver Dalaney is constantly subjected to my gasps and shrieks. And now my fears are confirmed more than ever…

Neither one of us were hurt. But had someone been driving in the three lanes that my car was thrown across, I could have died or worse, been a comatose paraplegic. Also, we’re convinced that without the muddy ravine, our car would have flipped. Next time I find myself complaining about mud, which happens a lot,  I will rememberthe time it saved me from physical anguish.

Even Pri Pri upheld surprisingly well.

Thankfully, this Parisian had insurance. So as long as Progressive stops denying their  moral duty to pay for my new bumper/headlight/maybe hood?, Pri shall be healed.

3 Responses to “Interstate Chaos”

  1. lorinabinning March 1, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    Oh poor prius! I remember good times from this car. I’m glad you guys are safe!

  2. Jenny March 5, 2012 at 3:51 am #

    Mud saved your life?? What about Aunt Beths continual prayer chain? So scarey. So grateful yall are ok. Pri Pri is a tough chic…..I like her.

  3. Jeannie March 10, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

    Prayer really does work, and a lot of people love you!

Leave a Reply

