I survived my oral argument and lived to see another day

5 Apr

Yes, that happened today. Next, a fancy pants law firm in Jackson will host a competition between the top 15 hand-selected 1L oral arguers. There is fame and fortune to be had for the top contenders. In addition to the ca$h money awarded, the top four are invited to join moot court.

Overall, it was a sufficiently humiliating. Throughout your argument the judges intervene with interrogating questions  and provide a lengthy, lengthy critique afterwards.

They complimented me on my vocabulary and natural public speaking voice, but apparently I fidget and look highly uncomfortable. Um, yeah. Sounds pretty accurate to me.

But as Dalaney always reminds me when I’m feeling insecure, at least I’m good at Scramble.

Oh, and this happened. The planning of fall 2012.

Family Law, Evidence, Wills & Estates, and Corporations.

I still need one more class but I’m on the wait-list for Civil Procedure II.

You would have thought it was New Year’s Eve the way we sat next to our computers, counting down the seconds until the clock struck 12. And, literally, my computer froze for maybe 20 seconds and bam! the class vultures swooped in and commandeered every seat. I don’t want to devolve too much online, in fear of someone planning a burglary while we’re MIA studying the law, but I will say there’s a high probability that Dalaney and I will be taking all the same classes.

It’s official. We’re butt stuck. Or just in love. I’m not sure which.

4 Responses to “I survived my oral argument and lived to see another day”

  1. Jeannie April 5, 2012 at 12:28 am #

    You look beautiful Hannah! Very professional. Almost 1 year down and it seems to have gone by very quickly. Good job!

  2. Jenny April 5, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    That’s MY girl!!!!!! I love you!

  3. Jenny April 6, 2012 at 12:05 am #

    ps. You are very good at Scramble. I hate that.

  4. Bethny April 6, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    I agree you ARE good at Scramble!!! And, I thought about you on Wednesday & have been anxious to see what you wore. Girlie…we are all cheering you on!

Leave a Reply

